Andrew Sass Kortsak Award

In 1990, the Canadian Liver Foundation, in partnership with the Canadian Association for the Study of the Liver (CASL), created the Sass-Kortsak Award to honour the late Dr. Sass-Kortsak who made tremendous contributions to the field of hepatology and did much to further the work of the Foundation. The award is presented every two years and the recipient is invited to lecture at the Canadian Digestive Diseases Week conference.

2014 Professor Mei-Hwei Chang

Mei-Hwei Chang is a Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the National Taiwan University and Director of the Hepatitis Research Center at the National Taiwan University Hospital. Professor Chang’s key research interests are pediatric hepatology, long-term follow-up of chronic hepatitis from children to adults, prevention of liver cancer, and liver cell transplantation.

Professor Chang is the President of the Federation of the International Society of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition and President of the Taiwan Pediatric Association. She has provided leadership and expertise as a member of several organizations and associations including the World Health Organization, the Asia-Pacific Pediatric Association and the Asian Society of Pediatric Research.

Past Recipients:
1990 Dr. Claude C. Roy
1992 Dr. Irmin Sternlieb
1994 Dr. Daniel Alagille
1996 Dr. Alex Mowat (posthumously)
1998 Dr. William Balistreri
2000 Dr. Frederick J. Suchy
2002 Dr. Jean-Bernard Otte
2004 Dr. Andrée Rasquin
2006 Dr. David Perlmutter
2008 Dr. Milton Finegold
2010 Dr. Peter Whitington
2012 Dr. Georgina Mieli-Vergani