CLF-CASLGold Medal Award

The Canadian Liver Foundation was the first organization in the world committed to reducing the incidence and impact of liver disease through research and education. In keeping with our pioneering mandate, the CLF established a Gold Medal Award in 1983  to recognize doctors and scientists who have made a significant contribution to moving the field of liver research forward.

Today, the award is given jointly with the Canadian Association for the Study of the Liver (CASL). The CLF-CASL Gold Medal recipients comprise an impressive list of internationally recognized liver specialists:

2016 Dr. Morris Sherman

Dr. Morris Sherman is a Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto and has been a staff gastroenterologist at the Toronto General Hospital since 1984. Dr. Sherman trained in Johannesburg and Cape Town, South Africa and received his PhD and did post-doctoral training at Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York.

Throughout his medical career, Dr. Sherman has taken a particular interest in viral hepatitis and liver cancer and has been at the forefront for developing screening for hepatocellular carcinoma. He has published extensively in numerous medical books and journals and has received many deserving awards including the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Award in 2012 and the Distinguished Achievement and Meritorious Service Award from the Canadian Association for the Study of the Liver in 2009.

Dr. Sherman has been Chairman of the Canadian Liver Foundation National Board of Directors since 2009. He has also served as President of the Canadian Association for the Study of the Liver, Chairman of the American Association for the Study of Liver Disease Hepatobiliary Neoplasia Special Interest Group Steering Committee and Treasurer and Chairman of the Guidelines Committee for the International Liver Cancer Association.

Past Recipients:

1983 Dr. Jean-Pierre Benhamou

1985 Dr. Rudi Schmid

1986 Dame Sheila Sherlock

1988 Dr. Carl A. Goresky

1989 Dr. Hyman J. Zimmerman

1990 Dr. B. S. Blumberg

1991 Dr. Hector Orrego

1992 Dr. Roger Williams

1993 Dr. Telfer Reynolds

1994 Dr. M. James Phillips

1995 Dr. Diane W. Cox

1996 Dr. Laurence Blendis

1997 Dr. Laurie Powell

1998 Dr. William Wall

1999 Dr. Juan Rodes

2000 Dr. Lorne Tyrrell

2001 Dr. Jay Hoofnagle

2002 Dr. Michel Huet

2003 Dr. Roger Butterworth

2004 Dr. Jenny Heathcote

2005 Dr. Ian Wanless

2006 Dr. Harvey Alter

2007 Dr. Victor Feinman

2008 Dr. Eve Roberts

2009 Dr. Jean-Paul Villeneuve

2010 Dr. Paul Adams

2011 Dr. Michael Houghton

2012 Dr. Jaime Bosch

2013 Dr. Alberta Czaja

2014 Dr. Jordi Bruix

2015 Dr. Guadalupe Garcia-Tsao