Liver Meetings and Conferences around the World


2017 International Liver Meetings & Conferences - click here.

* * * CANADIAN LIVER FOUNDATION FEATURED MEETINGS * * *

UPCOMING MEETINGS:

Live Webinar : The Role of Pathology in Diagnosing Lysomal Acid Lipase Deficiency (LAL-D)
Presented by: Dr. Subrata Chakrabarti, Chair, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Western University and Chief of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at London Health Sciences Centre & St. Joseph's Health Care, London, Ontario, Canada.

Lysosomal Acid Lipase Deficiency (LAL-D) is an autosomal recessive lysosomal storage disorder [previously known as Wolman Disease (infants) and Cholesteryl Ester Storage Disease (children and adults)]. In pediatric and adult patients, nearly 50% progress to fibrosis, cirrhosis or liver transplant within 3 years of onset of symptoms.

Presentation Agenda:
  • Overview of Lysosomal Acid Lipase Deficiency (LAL-D)
  • Distinguishing LAL-D from other conditions 
                - Differential diagnosis 
                - Common histologic features
                - Evaluation of steatosis: microvesicular,
                  macrovesicular and mixed
  • Important role of the pathologist in suspicion of LAL-D

***For healthcare professionals***
Date & Time: Wednesday, February 15, 2017
12:30 AM - 1:30 PM Eastern Time
Information & Registration: Click here

Optimizing the use of increased risk donors - Webinar
Presented by: Dr. Atul Humar, CNTRP Project 5 lead and Director of the UHN Multi-Organ Transplant Program

The CST and the CNTRP developed guidelines to optimize use of organs from increased risk deceased donors. These guidelines have been developed into a Resource Tool Kit, by the Trillium Gift of Life Network, to help all transplant surgeons and transplant physicians develop an approach to use increased risk donor organs and explain the risks and benefits to their patients. These efforts may lead to expanding the donor pool coupled with decreased wait-list times. 

To promote these guidelines and introduce this Tool Kit resource (which includes risk calculations, draft consent forms and patient scripts), the CNTRP is organizing a webinar for transplant Surgeons, Physicians and Coordinators to develop an approach to using increased risk donor organs.

Webinar dates & time: 
Thursday, February 16 at 1pm PT / 2pm MT / 3pm CT / 4 pm ET - (60 min)
Tuesday, February 28 at 1pm PT / 2pm MT / 3pm CT / 4 pm ET - (60 min)                                      
Guidelines: Click here
Register: Contact David Hartell, CNTRP Executive Director at davidhartell@cntrp.ca


6th Canadian Symposium on HCV
The one-day symposium will bring together experts in the field of Hepatits C and will provide an interactive platform to achieve the goal of global hepatitis C cure. The program is divided into four sessions corresponding to the four CIHR pillars. The meeting will include invited lectures, Q&A, oral abstract presentations, poster view sessions, panel discussion.

Date:  March 3, 2017
Location:  Banff, Alberta, Canada
Venue:  Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Program:  Click here
Website & Registration:  Click here


Canadian Digestive Diseases Week™ (CDDW™) 2017
Canadian Digestive Diseases Week™ (CDDW) is the annual scientific conference of the Canadian Association for the Study of the Liver (CASL) and the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology (CAG), held each winter (end of February/early March) at a Canadian venue.  The core conference program offers both clinical and basic science sessions, including the yearly Gold Medal Lecture.

Date: March 3 - 6, 2017
Location: Banff, Alberta, Canada
Venue: Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Program: Click here
Website & Registration: Click here 


* If you would like the CLF to add or revise your meeting or conference information, please contact Karen Seto at kseto@liver.ca or 1-800-563-5483 x4939.
VOLUNTEER
DONATE NOW
YOUR STORY