原發性膽汁性膽管炎


甚麼是
PBC?
誰人容易患PBC?
甚麼原因引致
PBC?
我會患上此病嗎?
如何診斷PBC?
治療選擇
我如何照顧自己?
其他資源

vegetables and fruits


即時起,原發性膽汁性肝硬化 (primary biliary cirrhosis)將更名為“primary biliary cholangitis 原發性膽汁性膽管炎”。新名稱提供對於此疾病更為準確的描述的同時,仍然繼續使用英文簡稱PBC。

原發性膽汁性膽管炎

原發性膽汁性膽管炎(PBC)的確診,對於病人全家可能難以接受。此處提供的資訊,會幫助您更多認識有關原發性膽汁性膽管炎,當您對病癥的理解更多,您便能夠更有效地照顧自己的健康問題。

甚麼是原發性膽汁性膽管炎?

原發性膽汁性膽管炎(primary biliary cholangitis,PBC) ,以前稱為原發性膽汁性肝硬化 (primary biliary cirrhosis) ,是一種慢性肝病。患原發性膽汁性膽管炎者,其免疫系統會侵害肝臟,逐步損壞膽管(膽汁沿這些小膽管引流出肝臟) 。膽汁是肝臟產生的黃綠色液體,幫助消化。當膽管受到損壞,便不能排出膽汁及其他物質,並且積聚在肝臟中。累積的物質會對肝臟有害,使炎癥惡化,以致肝臟進一步受損。隨著時間的過去,會引致肝臟結疤,當肝臟出現許多結疤時,便稱為肝硬化。

此病癥稱為原發性膽汁性膽管炎,是因為免疫系統侵害肝臟內的膽管,破壞了它們。當免疫細胞圍繞著身體某些部位,並加以攻擊,這情況稱為發炎。膽管發炎的情況稱為膽管炎。醫學上稱此情況為「原發性」,這是由於無人知道是甚麼原因引致這種損害。基於此病癥阻礙或防礙膽汁流出來,所以稱此病為「膽汁淤積」的肝病。

Back to Top

誰人容易患上原發性膽汁性膽管炎?

原發性膽汁性膽管炎一般發生於40至60歲女性身上,但在此年齡層之外的人,包括男士,也有人被診斷患此病。10個患者之中,有9個是女性。雖然沒有証據証明此病是由母親遺傳給子女的,但在那些母親患有PBC的女性中較為普遍。

Back to Top

甚麼原因引致原發性膽汁性膽管炎?

原發性膽汁性膽管炎的成因不明,但目前証據顯示,如果某人基因上容易發生此病,而且接觸到一些未被確定的環境因素,便會患上此病。值得註意的是,原發性膽汁性膽管炎並非因飲酒而引致。

原發性膽汁性膽管炎被認為是一種自身免疫系統的病癥。人體的免疫系統的作用是保護身體免受感染和罹患癌癥,但就此病癥而言,免疫系統錯誤地以為膽汁細胞並非身體的正常部份,因而攻擊它們。有些東西會激發身體產生這個錯誤。引發這種錯誤「激發」情形的,可能是某種感染或環境中接觸到的一些毒素。

原發性膽汁性膽管炎通常是緩慢地漸進發展。藥物可以減慢發展速度,如果及早開始服藥,尤期可以減慢病情。


Back to Top
 

我會患上此病嗎?

許多患上原發性膽汁性膽管炎的人都沒有症状,不過,如果出現症状,亦會因人而異,並可能出現多種徵狀,包括以下各種:
  • 輕微至嚴重的長期疲勞
  • 持續輕微至嚴重的皮膚痕癢 (通常在手掌或腳掌)
  • 皮膚顏色逐漸變黑
  • 皮膚呈現細小的白色凸點,通常在眼睛周圍
以下一些其他症狀,並非由原發性膽汁性膽管炎直接引起,但經常有病人提到出現這些情況:
  • 黏膜乾燥(鼻、眼、口腔和陰道)
  • 甲狀腺疾病
  • 關節炎
  • 寒冷時手指及/或腳趾變色 (「雷諾病」Raynaud’s disease)
重要的是,許多患有原發性膽汁性膽管炎的人,從沒有出現與此病症有關的任何症状。最常提到的徵狀是疲倦和身體任何部份痕癢。痕癢,醫學上也稱為搔癢,可能是由於肝臟无法分解膽汁。

如果患有原發性膽汁性膽管炎的人,肝臟受損的情況加重,則其他症状也會呈現出來,影響肝臟以外的身體部份,這些症状包括:
  • 腹部增大伴有腹腔積液(腹水)
  • 容易出現瘀斑或出血
  • 黃疸(皮膚和眼睛發黃)
  • 內出血 (腸道出血)
  • 由骨質疏鬆引起的骨痛或自發性骨折

Back to Top

如何診斷原發性膽汁性膽管炎?

一般是經過專門的驗血測試來診斷是否患有原發性膽汁性膽管炎:

大部份患有原發性膽汁性膽管炎的人,在他們的血液中會存在抗粒腺體抗體 〈antimitochondrial antibody (AMA) 〉。抗體是身體免疫系統產生的一種蛋白質,作用是攻擊「侵襲者」。如果您的體內存在抗粒腺體抗體,則是一個重要標記,顯示患了原發性膽汁性膽管炎。

  • 鹼性磷酸酵素〈alkaline phosphatase (ALP) 〉水平上升, 這種酵素是由受損的膽管釋放至血液。
  • 免疫球蛋白 (immunoglobulin) 水平上升。
  • 此外,醫生也會監測兩種肝酵素:谷丙轉氨酶(ALT)和谷草轉氨酶(AST),雖然這兩種酵素是用來衡量主要與肝細胞受損/受破壞有關的炎癥的標準,而非衡量膽管細胞受損的情況。

此外,您的醫護人員可能要求您進行其他檢測:
  • 可能要進行腹腔超聲波掃描,以檢驗膽管的狀況,確保沒有其他情況引致排出肝臟的膽汁減少。
  • 可能要進行肝臟活檢,看看病情的嚴重程度。這個醫療程序是用一個細小的針頭穿刺入肝臟,取得肝組織標本進行分析。
  • 進行肝臟纖維化掃描(FibroScan® test)。 這項測試類似超聲波測試,但提供的資料,讓人知悉肝臟的硬化程度,肝臟愈硬(根據測試產生的數字而定),則通常表示肝臟有較多結疤。
原發性膽汁性膽管炎是一種緩慢漸進的病癥,即是說肝臟的受損程度,是經過一段長時間才轉差。


Back to Top

原發性膽汁性膽管炎的治療

原發性膽汁性膽管炎是一種慢性肝病,即是說這是長期病症,現時大部份患者都可以控制病況,但不能根治。在過去二十年來,由於病人及早得到診斷,加上療法進步,原發性膽汁性膽管炎的預後情況獲得改善。及早接受治療,會大大減慢病情的進展。如果原發性膽汁性膽管炎病人是屬於淤膽型,若接受治療,則較沒有接受治療的病人,得到更佳的效果;有時健康情況甚至與沒有患此病的人一樣。
  • 服用一種稱為熊去氧膽酸(UDCA )的藥物,這種藥物仿似人體天然的膽酸,可以改善肝功能,延緩肝臟结疤組織的發展,從而推遲或消除患上原發性膽汁性膽管炎的機會,面不會演變成肝衰竭及/或需要進行肝臟移植。
  • 通常當出現嚴重的膽汁淤積和黃疸時,醫生會开具處方維他命 A、D、E 和 K 。
  • 醫生可能會给予其他處方藥物,以幫助減少痕癢,包括消膽胺(cholestyramine) 、抗組胺藥(antihistamines) 等。
  • 肝臟恶化的併發症往往可以控制,例如在飲食方面限制鹽,以及當腹腔積水時,可以服用處方藥物 (通常是去水丸) 。
目前正在研发一些治療原發性膽汁性膽管炎的新药,通常会与熊去氧膽酸组合使用。有一種名为奧貝膽酸(obeticholic acid)的新藥,現時已于美國被批准使用,可能很快会在加拿大使用。奧貝膽酸是一種人造膽酸,它的作用是減少肝臟受感染和膽汁淤積的情況。在小型的臨床試驗中,曾經評估苯扎貝特緩釋片(一種降膽固醇的藥物) 和熊去氧膽酸的组合疗法,結果顯示對原發性膽汁性膽管炎的病人有不错的效果。

如果其他療法不再起作用,且肝臟受損结疤的情形发展至令肝臟无法正常運作时,医生则会建議病人进行肝臟移植。對於原發性膽汁性膽管炎的病人來說,虽然原發性膽汁性膽管炎有可能在新的肝脏内发生,肝臟移植仍然是效果很好的方法。

Back to Top
 

我如何照顧自己的健康?

應對原發性膽汁性膽管炎的癥狀有幾個方法。

皮膚痕癢:
醫生或會開處方消膽胺(cholestyramine) ,以幫助減少皮膚痕癢。消膽胺是口服藥,防止身體再吸收化學品(膽酸) ,因為它可引致痕癢。有時,醫生亦會開處方利福平(rifampicin)、納曲酮(naltrexone) 或舍曲林(sertraline) 。除了藥物之外,使用皮膚滋潤劑也會有幫助,因為皮膚乾燥會加劇痕癢情況。您也應該避免熱水浸浴或淋浴,因為這樣會使皮膚更加乾燥。

眼睛乾燥和口乾情況,可以用人造淚液及唾液、潤滑劑和藥膏加以紓緩。無糖喉糖和香口膠,則可紓緩口乾情況。良好的口腔衛生十分重要。Biotène®產品對幹燥的口腔也會有幫助。

飲食: 健康的飲食對肝臟健康十分重要。應該特別留意的事項包括:
  • 根據您的年紀、性別和運動程度,維持健康卡路裏攝取
  • 進食四大類食品,包括蔬菜和水果、全榖類及穀物、奶類產品、肉類和代替品等等。
  • 限制鹹、甜及油膩食品的量。
酒精會有損肝臟,如果您有肝病,應避免喝酒。

服用藥物:在服用任何藥物,包括非處方的營養補充品和草本類藥物,或接受任何治療前,先與醫護人員商量,許多藥物可能有不良的副作用和反應。

應對疲倦: 令原發性膽汁性膽管炎病人疲倦的原因不明。您的醫生要排除其他與此癥無關、但可能引致疲倦的成因,包括貧血和甲狀腺等問題,這是十分重要的。如果您感到疲倦,不能應付日常事務,您可能要改變生活方式,這樣可能會使情況有所不同:
  • 放慢活動的節奏。
  • 嘗試每日進行一些有氧運動,例如:步行和遊泳,以幫助您更強健,不致感到疲乏困倦。
  • 按您的精神和能力,調節您的嗜好和日常活動。
骨骼健康: 當我們年紀漸長,骨骼往往漸變得薄且較脆弱。對於女性來說,尤其是在更年期之後,這情況更加普遍。原發性膽汁性膽管炎令此情形更嚴重。要避免這情況,您可以做大量負重運動和進食含有大量鈣質的食物 (例如牛奶等奶類製品) 。有時,除了在這些方面努力之外,可能也要服藥。所有加拿大人都應服食維他命D補充劑(每天1,000 – 2,000 IU) 。醫生可能指示您服食鈣補充劑,醫護人員也可能建議您服食增強骨骼的藥物或賀爾蒙替代品。

一些輔助及替代藥物可能有助紓緩肝病的癥狀,但許多藥物會損害肝臟。為評定輔助及替代藥物對於肝臟疾病的作用,需要進行更多研究。如使用這些療法,請與醫護人員討論。

哪些生活方式的改變會對原發性膽汁性膽管炎病人有幫助?

原發性膽汁性膽管炎病人的預後情況,因人而異。許多患者有幾種癥狀,仍然積極地過活10至20年以上(甚至更長時間) 。但有些病人的病況進展很快,數年內肝臟情況惡化嚴重。患了慢性疾病的人,亦可以活得健康,我們鼓勵您在醫護人員的指導下,保持活躍的生活方式。您須知道,您可使用很多支援服務,來幫助您提高生活質素。您可以諮詢醫護人員,在以下方面盡力而為:

  • 保持健康的生活方式
  • 減少壓力
  • 積極運動

尋求幫助?

加拿大肝臟基金會病人支援計劃包括:

Back to Top
 

其他資源


對於PBC病患者而言,了解相關的支援很重要,支援可以幫他們改善生活品質。

如果您想了解更多關於PBC或者其他肝臟疾病的信息,請聯系我們。如果您想捐款支持肝臟研究,請點擊此處

助己助人!
如果您不滿意在我們網站上看到的資訊,請用少少時間寫下您的評語及您想了解的信息,通過電子郵件發送至Websitefeedback@liver.ca 。請於電子郵件的“主題”處標明您所瀏覽的網頁的內容。






義工
捐款
分享您的故事

Primary Biliary Cholangitis

What is
Who is at
What causes
Could I
have it?
How is PBC
How do I take
care of myself?

vegetables and fruits

Formerly known as Primary biliary cirrhosis, PBC, is a disease that affects predominantly women aged 40-60. Thanks to improvements in our ability to treat and manage PBC, less than 50 per cent of patients progress to cirrhosis. Because of this fact and the issue of ‘cirrhosis’ often being connected solely to alcohol, PBC patients around the world pushed for a name change. Hepatologists agreed with the need to change the name to more accurately reflect the nature of the disease.

Primary biliary cirrhosis is now known as primary biliary cholangitis. It permits the continued use of the short form PBC while providing a more accurate description of the disease.
This change has been endorsed by the Canadian Liver Foundation, the Canadian Association for the Study of the Liver (CASL) as well as PBC patient groups and professional associations of liver specialists world-wide. 

Click here to read more about the background behind this change

Primary Biliary Cholangitis 

A diagnosis of primary biliary cholangitis (PBC) can be difficult for the whole family. The information provided in this resource will help you learn more about PBC, and by understanding more about your disease, you will be able to better manage your health.

What is PBC?

Primary biliary cholangitis, formerly known as primary biliary cirrhosis, is a chronic liver disease. When a person has PBC, the immune system attacks the liver causing slow, progressive damage to the bile ducts (small tubes through which bile flows out of the liver). Bile is a yellow-green fluid produced by your liver to aid digestion. When the bile ducts are damaged, bile and other substances cannot be eliminated and accumulate in the liver. The retained substances are harmful to the liver and worsen the inflammation which leads to further damage. This can over time result in scarring of the liver. When there is a lot of scarring in the liver this is called cirrhosis.

The disease is called primary biliary cholangitis (PBC) because the immune system attacks the bile ducts inside the liver, which damages them. When immune cells surround and attack parts of the body, this is called inflammation. Inflammation of the bile ducts is called cholangitis. The medical term “primary” in this case means that there is no known reason for this damage to happen. Because the disease blocks or prevents the flow of bile, PBC is known as a “cholestatic” liver disease.

Back to Top

Who is at risk of PBC?

PBC generally affects women between the ages of 40 and 60, but it has been diagnosed outside of this age range, as well as in men. Nine out of 10 people who get PBC are women. Although there is no evidence that PBC is inherited from mother to child, it is more common in the daughters of women with PBC.

Back to Top

What causes PBC?

The cause(s) of PBC remains unknown, but current evidence suggests that PBC occurs in genetically predisposed people after exposure to an undetermined environmental factor. It is important to note that PBC is not caused by alcohol consumption.

PBC is believed to be an autoimmune disease. In the case of PBC, your immune system which is designed to protect you against infections and cancer, mistakes the bile duct cells as being not a normal part of the body, and attacks them. Something may trigger your body into making this mistake. Possible causes of this “trigger” could be an infection or some form of toxin exposure from the environment.

PBC usually develops and progresses slowly. Medication can slow its progression, especially if treatment begins early.

Back to Top

Could I have it?

Many people with PBC have no symptoms. However, when they do, symptoms may vary and may be present in any combination and include:
  • mild to disabling chronic fatigue
  • mild to intense and unrelenting itching of the skin (often on palms or soles of the feet)
  • gradual darkening of the skin
  • small white bumps under the skin, usually around the eyes.

Other symptoms, not directly related to PBC, are also often reported by patients:

  • dry membranes (nose, eyes, mouth, vagina)
  • thyroid problems
  • arthritis 
  • fingers and/or toes that change colour in the cold (Raynaud’s disease).

Importantly, many people with PBC never develop any symptoms related to the disease. Most commonly reported symptoms are fatigue and itching in any part of the body. Itching, also medically referred to as pruritus, may be the result of your liver’s inability to process bile. 

If liver damage progresses in PBC, other symptoms may appear, which can affect other parts of the body outside of the liver. These symptoms include:
  • enlarged abdomen from fluid accumulation (ascites)
  • easy bruising or bleeding
  • jaundice (yellowing of the skin and eyes)
  • internal (gastrointestinal) bleeding
  • bone pain or spontaneous fracture can also occur due to osteoporosis.   
Back to Top

How is PBC diagnosed?

Diagnosis of PBC is typically made with specific blood tests:

Most people with PBC have something in their blood called antimitochondrial antibody (AMA). An antibody is a protein made by your body’s immune system to attack an “invader”. The presence of AMA in your blood is an important sign that you have PBC.
  • Increased levels of alkaline phosphatase (ALP), an enzyme released into the blood by damaged bile ducts.
  • Increased levels of the immunoglobulin IgM.
  • The liver enzymes alanine transaminase (ALT) and aspartate transaminase (AST) are also monitored by your doctor although these enzymes are a measure of inflammation relating primarily to liver cell damage/destruction, rather than bile duct cell damage.

In addition, your healthcare provider may request other tests:
  • An abdominal ultrasound scan may be used to check the condition of the bile ducts, to make sure there is nothing else causing decreased bile flow out of the liver. 
  • A liver biopsy may be performed to see how serious your condition is. In this procedure a small needle is inserted into the liver to take a sample of the tissue for analysis. 
  • A FibroScan® test (also called transient elastography), which is similar to an ultrasound test but gives information as to how stiff your liver is. The higher the stiffness (the number generated by the test), typically the more scarring there is in the liver. 

PBC is a slow progressive disease, which means that damage to the liver typically gets worse over a long period of time. 

Back to Top

Treatment of PBC

PBC is a chronic liver disease. This means that PBC is a long-lasting condition that can currently be controlled in the majority of people, but not cured. The prognosis of PBC has improved over the last two decades due to earlier diagnosis and improved treatment. Early access to treatment can significantly delay progression of the disease. The outcome for PBC patients who are cholestatic and take treatment is better than for those who are not receiving treatment; and can even be the same as people who do not have PBC. 
  • A medication called ursodeoxycholic acid (also called UDCA, URSO) mimics a naturally occurring bile acid. This medication can improve liver function and delay the development of fibrosis (scar tissue) in the liver, which in turn can delay or eliminate the potential for PBC to progress towards liver failure and/or liver transplantation. 
  • Vitamins A, D, E and K can be prescribed, usually when severe cholestasis and jaundice is present.
  • Various medications may be prescribed by your doctor to help reduce itching. Some examples of these medications include cholestyramine, antihistamines or other medications.
  • Complications of liver deterioration can often be controlled. As an example, a salt-restricted diet and medication (usually water pills) can be prescribed following accumulation of fluid in the abdomen. 

A number of new medicines are currently being developed to treat PBC, typically to be added to UDCA therapy. One such new medication is obeticholic acid (OCA) which is currently approved in the USA and may soon become available in Canada. OCA is a man-made bile acid that acts to reduce liver inflammation and cholestasis. Combination therapy with bezafibrate (a medication used to lower cholesterol) and UDCA has been evaluated in small clinical trials and has shown promising results in patients with PBC.

Liver transplantation may be recommended for eligible candidates if other treatments are no longer helpful, and liver damage and scarring has progressed to the point that the liver is no longer able to work properly. Liver transplantation works well for people with PBC, although it is possible to develop PBC in your new liver.

How do you know if your PBC treatment is working?


Back to Top

How do I take care of myself?

There are a number of treatments for the symptoms of PBC.

Itchy skin: Cholestyramine may be prescribed by your doctor to help ease itching. Cholestyramine is taken orally and works by preventing re-absorption of the chemicals (bile acids) that cause the itching. Sometimes rifampicin, naltrexone or sertraline may be prescribed by your doctor. In addition to medications, a skin moisturizer may be beneficial as itching is made worse by dry skin. As well, avoid taking hot baths and hot showers which may dry out your skin further.

Dry eyes and dry mouth may be relieved by artificial tears and saliva, lubricating gels and creams. Sugarless lozenges and gum may help with the dryness in your mouth. Good dental hygiene is very important. Biotène® products may also be helpful for dry mouth.

Diet: A healthy diet is important to liver health. Specific things to keep in mind include:
  • Maintain a healthy caloric intake recommended for your age, gender and activity level.
  • Eat from all four food groups, including fruits and vegetables, whole grains and cereals, milk products and meats and alternatives.
  • Limit your intake of salty, sugary and fatty foods.

Alcohol can damage your liver. If you have a liver disease, you should avoid drinking alcohol.

Taking medication:
Talk to your healthcare provider before taking any medicine or treatment, including over-the-counter supplements and herbal remedies. Many medicines may have unwanted side effects and interactions.

Dealing with fatigue: The cause of fatigue in PBC is unknown. It is important for your doctor to rule out other potential non-PBC -related causes of fatigue, including anemia and thyroid problems. If you feel tired and unable to carry out day-to-day tasks, you may find that some lifestyle changes can make a difference:
  • Pace your activities.
  • Try daily aerobic physical activities such as walking and swimming to help make you more fit without becoming exhausted.
  • Adjust your hobbies and daily activities to more closely match your energy level.

Bone health: As we get older our bones often become thinner and more brittle. This is more common among women, especially after menopause. PBC may make this worse. You can help prevent this problem by doing plenty of weight-bearing exercise and eating food with plenty of calcium (dairy products such as milk). Sometimes, despite these efforts, medicine may be needed. All Canadians should take a vitamin D supplement (1,000 – 2,000 IU/day). You may be advised to take calcium supplements.  As well, your healthcare provider may recommend bone enhancing medication or hormone replacement therapy.

Some complementary and alternative medicines may possibly help with the symptoms of liver disease, but many can damage the liver. More research is needed in order to assess the role of complementary and alternative medicine in liver disease. Please discuss the use of these therapies with your healthcare provider.

What lifestyle changes may be helpful for PBC patients?

The prognosis of PBC varies greatly from one patient to another. Many lead active lives with few symptoms for more than 10 to 20 years (and even longer). In some patients, however, the condition progresses more rapidly and liver deterioration may occur in just a few years. There is a healthy way to live with a chronic disease and you are encouraged to maintain an active lifestyle under the supervision of your healthcare provider. It is important to know that support is available that may help you improve your quality of life. In consultation with your healthcare provider, you should do your best to:

  • Maintain a healthy lifestyle
  • Reduce stress
  • Be physically active

Back to Top

Looking for help?

CLF patient support programs include: 
Back to Top

Additional resources

It is important for PBC patients to realize that support is available that may help them to improve their quality of life.

For more information about PBC or any other liver disease, please contact us.
To make a donation to support liver health research, click here

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.